About Colombia


Colombia is located in northwestern South America, bordered to the northwest by Panama; to the north by the Caribbean Sea; to the east by Venezuela and Brazil; to the south by Ecuador and Peru; and to the west by the Pacific Ocean. Colombia has maritime borders with Ecuador, Panamá, Venezuela, Jamaica, Haití, the Dominican Republic, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Colombia is the 26th largest country by area and the fourth largest in South America after Brazil, Argentina and Peru. Colombia is the 27th largest country in the world by population and has the second largest population of any Spanish-speaking country in the world, after Mexico. It is also the only country in South America having coasts in the Pacific Ocean and in the Atlantic Ocean.


Land Area: 1,141,748 km²
Capital City: Bogota
Population: Appox. 46,366,364 million (Feb 2012 est.).
Export goods: Petroleum, coffee, coal, nickel, emeralds, apparel, bananas, cut flowers
Import goods: Industrial equipment, transportation equipment, consumer goods, chemicals, paper products, fuels, electricity


Unitary presidential constitutional republic
President: Juan Manuel Santos.
Vice President: Angelino Garzón.

Juan Manuel Santos is a Colombian politician who has been the President of Colombia since 7th August 2010. He previously served as Minister of Foreign Trade, Minister of Finance, and Minister of National Defense.